Education and Training Committee Update

C. Prakash Gyawali



Activities 2020-21

- AFS Annual Meeting Oversight
- AFS Motility Courses
- AFS Foregut Fellowships
- AFS Foregut Fellowship Curriculum



AFS Annual Meeting Oversight

- Two chairs of the Education Committee were part of the AFS Program Committee
- Assisted in planning of this meeting at all stages
- Provided input into new programs, themes, speakers and talks



AFS Motility Courses

- Two motility courses organized as part of this Annual Meeting
- Both courses have the underlying theme of evaluating the symptomatic esophageal patient
- Basic Course Thursday
 - Essentials of manometry testing using available HRM systems
 - pH and pH monitoring, both catheter based and wireless
- Advanced Course Sunday
 - Description of each esophageal motor diagnosis using a case-based approach
 - Discussion of ancillary non-pharmacologic management options for esophageal symptoms



Fellowship Council and AFS Foregut Fellowships

- AFS is now an associate member society of the Fellowship Council
 - We will have representatives on key FC committees including :
 - Board of Directors (Christy Dunst, Oregon Clinic, non-voting)
 - Education/Curriculum Committee (Nikolai Bildzukewicz, USC, voting)
 - Accreditation Committee (Michael Awad, non-voting)
 - Curriculum development task force (Chris DuCoin)
 - Criteria for becoming a full member criteria are still being discussed by the Fellowship Council leadership
- AFS is now a co-sponsoring society (along with SAGES, SSAT, ASMBS) for Foregut Fellowships
 - In its inaugural year, 15 foregut fellowships have been accredited across the country
 - 24 fellows enrolled in AFS Foregut Fellowships.



AFS Foregut Fellowship Curriculum

- AFS Foregut Fellowship Curriculum template developed by Chris DuCoin and Josh Sloan is now the standard for the Fellowship Council
- Chris DuCoin has been asked to take the lead in further development of the curriculum for the Fellowship Council



Education and Training Committee

• Chairs: Michael Awad (term completed), C. Prakash Gyawali

Members

Chris DuCoin Josh Sloan

Roger Tatum Ben Rogers

Brad Kushner Peter Denk

Marcelo Vela Afrin Kamal

Joan Chen

• Executive Liaison: Christy Dunst

