The American Foregut Society
September 28 – October 1, 2023 | Gaylord Texan, Dallas, TX

You can't find anywhere else a meeting dedicated to Foregut disease with the collegiality and depth of knowledge that has brought GIs and Surgeons together than at the annual AFS meeting! Please join us to discuss and learn in Dallas on Sept 28–Oct 1st, 2023.
Reginald Bell, MD – President, AFS

Register Today!


View the Meeting Agenda

2023 AFS Women of The Foregut: The Power of Your Voice in Foregut

WoTF Coffee Talk 2.0: "Breaking Barriers and Shaping the Future" 
Date: Friday, September 29th 
Time: 7-9 AM  

WoTF Workshop: “LeadHERship: Empowering Women for Professional Growth and Organizational Success” 
Date: Saturday, September 30th 
Time: 7 PM-late night cocktails (or pajama time whichever comes first) 

Learn More Here

AFS Awards Call for Nominations

The AFS is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the annual American Foregut Society Awards.

A paragraph or two supporting the nominee is required for submissions. Nominations can be sent via e-mail directly to [email protected]. Nominations are due by July 15th at 5pm CST.

Awardees will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the AFS Annual Meeting in Dallas, Saturday, September 30th.

The nomination categories are:

Outstanding Trainee Awards

  • To resident or fellow trainees who are considered by their faculty and peers (residents/students) to demonstrate be outstanding educators and/or clinician teachers.
  • Awarded annually to up to three residents or fellows
  • Candidates must have completed at least two years of clinical training and who will be no more than 1 year after formal training is completed at the time of the awards ceremony.
  • Awardees receive complimentary registration to the annual meeting
  • Nominees are not required to be AFS members

Early Career Award

  • For an early career clinician-scientist demonstrating excellence in scientific inquiry, including basic science, clinical/translational, device development or educational research
  • Must be within 5 years of the completion of formal training at the time of the awards ceremony
  • Nominees must be current, active AFS members

Distinguished Service Awards

  • The Award will be granted for a significant, long-term educational, research, clinical and/or technological contribution to the field of foregut disease as well as to AFS.
  • Nominees must be current, active AFS members

Excellence in Community Practice Award

  • For a community-based practitioner for enduring contributions to the field of Foregut disease and contributions to AFS.
  • Nominees must be current, active AFS members



September 26-29, 2024 – Gaylord Rockies
September 11-13, 2025 – Gaylord Texan
September 24-27, 2026 – Gaylord National