The American Foregut Society proudly announces a new honor to be bestowed on distinguished AFS members, Fellow of the AFS (FAFS).

Our first inductees were announced at the 2022 Annual Conference. Unique by design, the American Foregut Society codifies the multidisciplinary standard to which we all strive. Becoming a Fellow of the AFS requires the expected commitment to excellence and a track record of leadership, but also requires the practitioner to move outside the silo in which they practice. The AFS seeks to promote both academic and clinical collaboration from all those working within the foregut space; being designated a Fellow of the American Foregut Society therefore demonstrates the ultimate commitment to caring for patients with foregut disorders.

Dr. Luigi Bonavina

C. Prakash Gyawali, MD, MRCP

Cory Richardson, MD

Ken Chang, MD

Ikuo Hirano, MD

Joel Richter, MD

Kerry Dunbar, MD, PhD

Philip O. Katz, MD

Lee L. Swanstrom, MD

Christy Dunst, MD

David A. Katzka, MD

Rena Yadlapati, MD

2022 Fellows of the AFS

Reg Bell, MD Tripp Buckley, MD Peter Kahrilas, MD
John Lipham, MD Dan Lister, MD Felice Schnoll-Sussman, MD
Michael S. Smith, MD


Fellow of the American Foregut Society Application

The American Foregut Society (AFS) brings Foregut Surgeons and Gastroenterologists together to advance science in the field, guide and foster collaboration, and positively impact treatment paradigms. Advancement to Fellowship within the society represents a commitment to high standards and continued progress. The title of Fellow acknowledges a Member’s prior achievements and dedication to improving care for patients with foregut disorders. Fellows will therefore serve as liaisons to the community, fellow practitioners, and patients as well as paragons of the modern practitioner.

To advance to Fellow status, Members must demonstrate:

  • Five years of active clinical or academic practice following successful completion of training at an accredited academic institution.*
  • Certification in respective specialty with full license to practice in state, province, region, or country, as applicable.*
  • Attendance or participation in three Annual AFS Meetings or other AFS courses during the previous five years.
  • A statement demonstrating excellence within applicant’s field, with particular focus on foregut experience and interdisciplinary achievements, and including the following: 
    • Participation in AFS activities
    • Leadership roles in their institution and/or hospital
    • Dedication to teaching, particularly as it relates to foregut anatomy, physiology, or management
    • Recognition for community service
    • Contribution to research, particularly where representatives from multiple specialties are involved
  • Applicants must be able to provide:
    • Two letters of recommendation from current AFS Fellows
      • One letter must come from a foregut surgeon and the other a gastroenterologist
    • Curriculum vitae
    • Board certification documentation

There is a one-time application fee of $100, in addition to active membership in good standing.

*Emeritus and Honorary member status do not require active clinical practice, but a distinguished career is considered prerequisite.

Deadline to submit is July 1st.

Apply Here.